Monday, August 29, 2011

Meet Zak Allen

The Taste_cover_nookI’d like to introduce someone who is very (very!) near and dear to me, Zak Allen.

Zak has just epubbed his first novel. Called THE TASTE, it’s a full-length horror/thriller, in the tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.

Take it away, Zak!

 

 

Thank you, Alan, for letting me take over your blog today. (It’s a nice blog and all, but you really should work harder to increase its readership. Maybe you should blog more frequently. And being clever would help, too. Just sayin’ )

As you mentioned, I’ve just epubbed a novel, and I’m very proud of it. It’s really a thriller with a horror premise, but it’s not too gory. (Although some people might find it a bit revolting in spots.) It takes place in the hinterlands of West Virginia and it was a lot of fun to write. I hope people think it’s a lot of fun to read, too!

Here’s the “cover flap” description:

After his mother dies, Jake Wheeler returns to his birthplace of Dark Springs, West Virginia, seeking solace among his kin. But his family’s unique comfort food includes some ingredients Jake's not sure he can stomach.


They eat dead people.


Discovering that skeleton in the pantry and adjusting to a new diet turn out to be the least of Jake’s worries. Storm clouds have gathered over Dark Springs, threatening the family’s peaceful existence. Ax-wielding clan patriarch Dallas Pike and his band of renegade followers have decided upon a violent plan to increase the dwindling food supply. Why wait for your next meal to die naturally if you can hunt it down instead?


With the survival of the entire clan at stake, Jake wages war against madman Pike.


He also battles an even more terrifying opponent.


Himself.


After all, Jake has THE TASTE.

 

ZakAllen

 

THE TASTE is available for Kindle and NOOK, for only $2.99. Download a free sample today and check it out!

 

 

Thanks for coming by the blog today, Zak! And best of luck with THE TASTE! You can follow Zak on Twitter (@ZakAllenBooks) and “like”" his Facebook page. (Nice author “photo,” by the way!)


Share/Save/Bookmark

6 comments:

Sue Ann Jaffarian said...

Just ordered THE TASTE, though I doubt I'll be reading it on my lunch hour.

Alan Orloff said...

Thanks, Sue Ann! If it flops as an e-book, I can always market it as an appetite suppression tool.

Wendy said...

This was too funny not to pass along... I went over to Amazon to check out your book and there was a big ad over there for a food company and it said in huge letters, "SKIP THE MEAL PLAN".

Perfect!

Alan Orloff said...

Wendy, that IS too funny! Sometimes I love Amazon's algorithms!

Elizabeth Spann Craig/Riley Adams said...

Looking forward to reading this one, Alan...uh, Zak. :)

Alan Orloff said...

Thanks, Elizabeth...uh, Riley!